Several Slugs Headline AD3I 2005 All-Independent Teams

KANSAS CITY, MO -- Seniors Bryan Baird and Chris Pederson of the University of California, Santa Cruz, headline the 2005 All-Independent Men?s Soccer teams named today by the Association of Division III Independents.

Baird, a forward from San Anselmo, CA, who scored 19 goals and added eight assists for the 17-2-1 Banana Slugs, was voted the offensive player of the year. Pedersen, a goalkeeper from Danville, CA, who recorded seven shutouts and allowed only seven goals in 20 matches, was named the defensive player of the year.

John Mawson, a freshman forward from Newbury College, was named the rookie of the year. The Amherst, MA, native started all 17 games and scored 12 goals. For the second year in a row, UC Santa Cruz head coach Paul Holocher was named the coach of the year.

Slugs Awarded All-Independent Team, Men's Soccer
  • 1st Team – Bryan Baird
  • 1st Team – Adam Smarte
  • 1st Team – Chris Pedersen
  • 2nd Team – Alex Tocco
  • 3rd Team – Jeff Meyer
  • 3rd Team – Steve Wondolowski