Former Slug Wondolowski Wins MLS Cup With Houston Dynamo

Former Slug standout Steve Wondolowski became the second UC Santa Cruz Alumni to win an MLS Cup Championship in as many years. Steve joins 2004 Alum, Aaron Lanes, not only as the second UC Santa Cruz player in the MLS, but also the second to earn an MLS Championship ring.

For the second year in a row, Houston Dynamo fell behind to the New England Revolution in the MLS Cup Final. And for the second year in a row, Dynamo came back to deny the Revolution victory, winning MLS Cup 2007 2-1 at RFK Stadium.

Taylor Twellman had headed the Revolution into the lead in the 20th minute, and as the second half wore on it looked like New England might finally win their first MLS Cup. But Joseph Ngwenya stabbed home the equalizer in the 61st minute, then 13 minutes later Dwayne De Rosario snapped home a header to make Dynamo the first back-to-back MLS champions since D.C. United in the first years of league history.