Five Banana Slugs Participate in 115th Ojai Tennis Tournament

OJAI, CA -- Five men's tennis players took part in the 115th Ojai Tennis Tournament as they took on the best players in the NCAA Division III. The event featured tennis matches from all levels of tennis from high school through the collegiate levels. 

Three individual matches occurred in the round of 32. Max Littlejohn fell to Giordano Valdez of California Lutheran University 6-3, 6-2. Fergus Scott of California Lutheran defeated Kyle Richter 6-2, 6-2. Chad Stone lost to Spencer Simonides of Pomona Pitzer 6-3, 7-6 (4). 

In the round of 32, in the doubles competition, the team of Derek Levchenko and Stone defeated Ruthwick and Sathwick Pathireddy of California Institute of Technology 8-3. In the round of 16, Levchenko and Stone fell to the team of Ted Burchett and Gram Leahy of University of Redlands 8-5. The team of Littlejohn and Kyle Richter defeated Fergus Scott and Oliver Thornton of California Lutheran 8-6. In the quarterfinals, Littlejohn and Richter fell to Claremont Mudd Scripps' Skyler Butts and Daniel Morkovine 8-5. 

The Banana Slugs will now wait until May 4th to see if they make the 2015 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship.