Slugs Selected to NCAA Tennis Championships

Slugs Selected to NCAA Tennis Championships

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana–  The NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Committee selected the 43 team field that will compete for the NCAA National Championship. The University of California, Santa Cruz was selected Monday as an at-large team.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 13-15. Kalamazoo College will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 23-25 at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 11th.

The Slugs were one of three teams that were selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  They earned their spot as being one of the the top ranked independent program in the country.  

They were selected to the Claremont pool and are joined by #2 Claremont-Mckenna, #19 Whitman, and Texas-Tyler.  The Slugs have a bye for the first round.  They drew Claremonet-McKenna in the second round.

"This couldn't be a better set up for us", said head coach Mike Napoli.  "We know Claremoont very well, and they know us.  It will be a hard fought match, but we look to pull off the upset"  

The All-American dual of Kyle Richter and Adrian Sirovica will lead the Slugs into the 2nd Round matchup against Claremont-Mckenna.  UCSC will also rely on continued strong singles play from Sirovica, Chad LeDuff, and Ryan Dugan.

Exact date and time for their second round match with Claremont-Mckenna to be announced.