Banana Slug Invitational a success

Banana Slug Invitational a success

SANTA CRUZ - The UC Santa Cruz swim teams concluded their Fall portion of the schedule with the Banana Slug Invitational.

The men lost the two-day Invitational to Cal Lutheran by a score of 1145.5 to 1098.5. The women were victorious in the tri-meet, scoring 1174 points to 1161 by CLU and 645 to Mills.

Overall, UCSC won eight of the 50 events. The Slugs swept all four diving events. Gina Eggert, Janine Grgurina and Aya Yoneda went 1-2-3 in the women's 3 meter while Eli Cirino won the Men's. Grgurina won the women's 1 meter while Ethan Johnson won the men's.

The 800 Yard medley relay of Julian Fee, Madeline Schade, Katie Hardung and Angelica Tujo came from behind to win in 9:44.17. Mackenzie Arnold won the 100 Breaststroke.

Sean Kos won the men's 200 backstroke barely missing the two-minute mark in 2:00.5 and Jason Williams won the 200 Fly in 2:01.5

Both teams resume their season in January when they travel to Thousand Oaks for the Chris Knorr memorial meet.