2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Awards Announced

2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Awards Announced

ATLANTA – The Great South Athletic Conference (GSAC) held a banquet on Friday evening in Winston-Salem to celebrate the 2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball All-Conference award winners. 

Todd Kent, head coach at UC-Santa Cruz, was named 2015-16 GSAC Women's Basketball Coach of the Year after guiding the Banana Slugs to a 13-11 overall record and the top seed in the GSAC Tournament. Kent just completed his sixth season with UCSC as the most successful head coach in program history. Over the past five seasons Kent has taken the Slugs to an unprecedented level of success by setting the school record for wins in a season each of the past three years. Kent is a graduate of Eastern Washington University where he earned his degree in Recreation and Leisure Service Management. He received his Master's In Teaching degree from Heritage University in 2003.

2 Slugs received First Team All-Conference honors.  Senior Ashley Holmes was selected after a tremendous year where she led the Slugs in scoring with 9.3 PPG and 4.0 RPG.  Senior Trina Torres joined Holmes on the First Team after a year after fnishing the regular season averaging 8.9 PPG, 5.8RPG, and 1.2 SPG.  Holmes also was honored to the GSAC All-Sportsmanship Team for her tremendous display of integrity, character, and sportsmanship she displayed throughout the course of the 2015-2016 season.  

The UCSC women's basketball team also had 13 players recognized as GSAC Women's Basketball All-Academic Team.  The academic team honors those that achieved over a 3.25 GPA.  27 athletes were recognized, including The Slugs' Lashay Alexander, Jasmine Dimson, Ashley Holmes, Sonya Ivanovic, Katherine Mauldin, Shoshana Merriman, Michelle Poole, Amanda Spence, Tyler Stewart, Anne Susco, Trina Torres, Madison Van Zandt, and Katelyn Young.  

Congratulations to the Slugs and good luck in the GSAC tournament.