UC Santa Cruz Finishes Twelfth at Lampkin Grip/Cal Poly Invitational

ARROYO GRANDE, CA -- UC Santa Cruz competed in their final golf tournament of the 2014 calendar year as they participated in the Lampkin Grip/Cal Poly Invitational. The invitational took place at Cypress Ridge Golf Course in Arroyo Grande, California and was hosted by Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. The Banana Slugs' competition included eight NCAA Division I schools, two NAIA Division I schools and one NCAA Division II school. 

In the first round, Angela McElroy led the UCSC contingent as she shot an 88 (+15) which tied her with Lexie Price of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Miranda Reyes of Southern Utah University and Keila Takeuchi of CSU Monterey Bay. Ravipa Losakul shot an 89 (+16). Olivia Bean shot a 95 (+22) which tied her with Anna DiGiallonardo and Katrina Well of Idaho State University. Victoria Ly rounded out the Banana Slugs' contingent with a 104 (+31). Rebecca Bostrom of CSU Northridge led the individual competition after one round and Northern Arizona University led the team competition by four strokes.

In the second round, McElroy once again led the Banana Slugs in scoring. She shot an 89 (+16) for a total tournament score of 177 (+31) which finished her tied for 57th place along with Ashley Stubbs of Southern Utah University. Losakel shot a 99 (+26) for a total tournament score of 188 (+42) which placed her in 66th place. Bean finished in 68th place after firing a second round 96 (+23) for a total tournament score of 191 (+45). Ly rounded out the Banana Slugs' scoring, finishing in 71st place after a 98 (+25) for a total tournament score of 202 (+56). Bostrom won the individual competition and Santa Clara University won the team competition. 

The Banana Slugs will not have another tournament until March 2015. The next tournament for the Banana Slugs will be the Tim Tierney Pioneer Shootout hosted by CSU East Bay. The tournament will take place Sunday March 1st through Tuesday March 3rd at Hiddenbrooke Golf Club in Vallejo.