Banana Slugs rally but Fall in Penalty Kicks in ACAA Championship

Banana Slugs rally but Fall in Penalty Kicks in ACAA Championship

HUDSON, NH (11-3) – The Banana Slugs took on University of Wisconsin-Whitewater for the American Collegiate Athletic Association Men's Soccer Championship in Hudson, New Hampshire. The Banana Slugs and Warhawks recorded an official tie at 2-2 but, in penalty kicks, the Warhawks defeated the Banana Slugs 4-2.

In the first half, the Warhawks outshot the Banana Slugs 5-3. However UCSC would get on the scoreboard first  with 23:59 left in the half, as Kailas Dhond scored off an assist by Liam Laird. A little over four minutes later, the Warhawks responded as Mariano Carini would score off an Andres Villarreal corner kick to tie the match at 1-1. The final chance for the Banana Slugs to score came with 2:42 left in the half but Ronaldo Nava's header went wide of the goal. The two teams went into halftime tied at 1-1.  

In the second half, the Warhawks scored first as Steven Wright converted a pass from Hozai Ceballos with 36:58 left in regulation. But with 21:46 left, the Banana Slugs tied the match on a Lucas Donoso strike after a cross from Dhond. The final shot of regulation for the Banana Slugs came off the foot of Ben Blackfield but his shot was blocked. 

In the first overtime session, the Banana Slugs outshot the Warhawks 4-2 and in the second overtime, the Warhawks would have three shots with two on goal. Both shots were saved by goalie Andrew Pimentel who finished with five stops. 

In the shootout, both teams converted their first two kicks. In the third round, Ceballos converted his kick while Laird missed his kick. In the fourth round, both teams missed their kicks. In the final round, Garrett Morgando converted his kick for the Warhawks to give the Midwesterners the shootout. 

Dhond had a match-high four shots for the Banana Slugs. The Banana Slugs will have their next match at home Wednesday at 2 pm as they take on California Maritime for Senior Day.


James Allison, UC Santa Cruz

Ben Blackfield, UC Santa Cruz

Noah Raisenan, Finlandia

Kailas Dhond, UC Santa Cruz

Evan Donini, Wisconsin-Whitewater

Andre Hernandez, Pine Manor

Trevor Johnson Wisconsin-Whitewater

Jake King, Wisconsin-Whitewater

Liam Linas, UC Santa Cruz

Noel Rios, Pine Manor

MVP- Hozai Ceballos, Wisconsin-Whitewater