Texas-Tyler Wins 2014 ASC Women's Golf Championship

GLEN ROSE, TX -- The Texas-Tyler women's golf team shot a 626, capturing its second American Southwest Conference championship in program history, edging out three-time defending champ Mary Hardin-Baylor by two strokes. The Patriots last ASC-championship came in 2009.
The Patriots ended the Cru's three-year championship-streak, shooting the lowest combined score in women's championship history (626).
Taylor Sloane led the way for Texas-Tyler, finishing second overall in the medalist competition with a 153, finishing four strokes behind UMHB's McKenzie Ralston (149).
Sophomore Laura Lindsey finished fourth overall with a combined 158, finishing the tournament with a 77 in round two. Jordan Sloane finished with a 79-80-159, finishing in fifth-place overall while Marina Rhodes (87-75-162) and Morgan Loth (81-81-162) finished in a tie for eighth.
Last year's team champ, Mary Hardin-Baylor (628) finished just two strokes off the lead, as Ralston and Taylor O'Rear (79-78-157) each finished in the top-five.
Hardin-Simmons (687) finished in third, with Dylan Dawson (85-75-160) leading the way with her sixth-place medalist finish. Concordia-Texas (696) finished fourth, led by Shelby Allen (82-82-165) who finished in 12th-place in medalist competition.
Texas-Tyler will now receive the automatic bid into the 2014 NCAA Championships, hosted by Guilford College, May 13-16 at the Mission Inn Resort at Howey-In-The-Hills, Florida. The NCAA Division III championship selections will air May 5 on NCAA.com.
Final Team Scores

1. Texas-Tyler


2. Mary Hardin-Baylor


3. Hardin-Simmons


4. Concordia-Texas


5. California, Santa Cruz


6. Texas-Dallas


7. LeTourneau


8. Louisiana College 


Top 10 Player Scores
1. McKenzie Ralston, Mary Hardin-Baylor (75-74=149)
2. Taylor Sloane, Texas-Tyler (76-77=153)
3. Taylor O'Rear, Mary Hardin-Baylor (79-78=157)
4. Laura Lindsey, Texas-Tyler (81-77=158)
5. Jordan Sloane, Texas-Tyler (79-80=159)
6. Dylan Dawson, Hardin Simmons (85-75=160)
7. Victoria Thane, Mary Hardin-Baylor (81-80=161)
T8. Elizabeth Davis, Mary Hardin-Baylor (89-73=162)
T8. Marina Rhodes, Texas-Tyler (87-75=162)
T8. Morgan Loth, Texas-Tyler (81-81=162)