Cross Country sweeps ACAA Championships

Cross Country sweeps ACAA Championships

OAKLAND (10-26) Behind strong performance from the upperclassmen, UC Santa Cruz swept the ACAA Cross Country Championships today, winning both individual champions and team titles at Mills College.

It's the first Conference titles in school history for the Slugs, who joined the ACAA earlier this year

Senior Natalie Marquardt took the first title of the day, posting a 6K time of 25:09.3, while Riley Martel-Phillips was close behind with a 25:10.0 time. The Slugs had the top 4 in the race, with Hana Vrablik (25:24.8) and Elana Muzzy (25:34.4) following.

UC Santa Cruz took the women's title with 17 points, and Pratt Institute was second with 49. Mills was third with 71 points.

Paul Colosi took the men's race individual title clocking in at 29:38.3, right in front of teammate Kellen O'Neill who finished in 29:41.7. The Slugs had nine out of the top ten finishers of the 8K race.

UCSC took the men's title, scoring 17 points, and once again, Pratt took second with 46. Valley Forge had 85 points for third place.

The Slugs had 5 women with First-team All-ACAA honors: Marquardt, Martel-Phillips, Vrablik, Muzzy, and Carrie Bradley. The men had 6 with First-team All-ACAA honors: Colosi, O'Neill, Walter Teitelbaum, Kyle Henricson, Robert Udell, and Nick Kleiber. The top seven runners earned First-team honors.

The Banana Slugs have three weeks before their next meet when they compete in the NCAA West Regional in Pomona.