Association of Division III Independents Names 2013 All-Independent Women’s Basketball Teams

OVERLAND PARK, KA.--- Samantha Retas, a sophomore forward from St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn), was named the player of the year as the All-Independent Women's Basketball teams were announced today by the Association of Division III Independents (AD3I).   
Retas, a native of Brooklyn, N.Y., averaged 13 points and 10.7 rebounds per game, and she blocked 43 shots in 27 games.   She received five AD3I player-of-the-week honors and was a member of the D3 Hoops Team of the Week January 8.
In addition to Retas, the other members of the first team include Sarah Mackey, University of California, Santa Cruz; Mallory Shanahan, Nebraska Wesleyan University; Jasmine Brandon, College of New Rochelle; and Alyssa Pechin, College of New Rochelle.
Brandon, a freshman guard from Jersey City, N.J., was named the rookie of the year after she led the Blue Angles in scoring (16.8) and rebounding (9.3). 
Frank Carbone, head coach at St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn), was named the coach of the year.  Carbone led the Tigers to a 17-10 record. 
The All-Independent Women's Basketball teams were selected by the women's basketball coaches from AD3I member schools.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Samantha Retas, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Jasmine Brandon, College of New Rochelle   
COACH OF THE YEAR: Frank Carbone, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   
Samantha Retas   St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   SO   F   Brooklyn, NY   
Sarah Mackey   University of California, Santa Cruz   SO   F   Placerville, CA   
Mallory Shanahan   Nebraska Wesleyan University   SO   F   Wahoo, NE   
Jasmine Brandon   College of New Rochelle   F   F/C   Jersey City, NJ   
Alyssa Pechin   College of New Rochelle   SO   G   Yonkers, NY  

Emily Pelletier   University of Maine-Presque Isle   SR   G   Fort Kent, ME   
Ryane Ortiz   University of California, Santa Cruz   JR   G   Livermore, CA   
Marissa Burke   Finlandia University   SO   G/F   Watersmeet, MI   
Kelly McNamee   St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   JR   G   Glendale, NY   
Olivia McNally   University of Maine-Presque Isle   JR   G   Sherman, ME   
Brierra Ruska   Finlandia University   SO   G   Trenary, MI   
Janine Doran   St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   SR   F   South Ozone Park, NY   
Teresa Mangan   St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   SR   G   Cleveland, OH   
Taylor Raccuglia   St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn)   SO   F   Brooklyn, NY   
Hailey Gervais   Finlandia University   JR   G   Laurium, MI   
Paige Yoho   Finlandia University   SO   G   Negaunee, MI   
Janelle Baal   Nebraska Wesleyan University   SR   G   Littleton, CO   
Amanda Hotham   University of Maine-Presque Isle   F   G-F   Fort Fairfield, ME  

The Association of Division III Independents consists of 10 Division III independent institutions that have joined together to recognize student-athletes at independent institutions, and to provide exempted postseason championship competition in 2012-13. The Association recognizes outstanding athletic achievements of its student-athletes on a weekly, monthly and annual basis. The Association provides statistical services for its members in seven sports. In addition, it will announce All-Independent teams at the conclusion of eight other sports this year.  More information about the Association of Division III Independents is available at